Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Action Registry


About the National Quality Strategy

​About the National Quality Strategy

In April 2011, the US Department of Health and Human Services established the country’s first National Quality Strategy (NQS), building on extensive input from public and private stakeholders across the health care industry. The NQS pursues the three aims of: better care, healthy people and communities, and affordable care. In addition, the NQS names six key priority areas:
  1. Ensuring that each person and family is engaged as partners in their care.
  2. Promoting effective communication and coordination of care.
  3. Promoting the most effective prevention and treatment practices for the leading causes of mortality, starting with cardiovascular disease.
  4. Working with communities to promote wide use of best practices to enable healthy living.
  5. Making quality care more affordable for individuals, families, employers, and governments by developing and spreading new health care delivery models.
  6. Making care safer by reducing harm caused in the delivery of care.
The NQS was developed with ongoing input from the National Priorities Partnership, which is convened by National Quality Forum. Further information, including a full report with recommendations, is available on National Quality Forum’s website here. Details about the National Quality Strategy are available on the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality’s website, Working For Quality, here.